Heart Chakra

Chakra 4: Heart Chakra (Anahata)

Location: Centre of chest, just above the heart
What it controls: Love, joy and inner peace
Colour: Green – symbolises health, love, abundance
Element: Air
Stone: Jade, rose quartz, peridot
When it develops: 21 to 28 years old
Mantra: “I am open to giving and receiving love”
Yoga Poses: Camel; Cobra; Up Dog; Eagle; Fish

The heart chakra is the bridge between the lower chakras (associated with materiality) and the upper chakras (associated with spirituality) and so is the centre of your energetic system.

This chakra develops between ages 21 and 28, when most of us are exploring romantic relationships. We may face rejection, find our feelings not reciprocated or experience heartbreak and all this can lead to us being guarded or closing off our hearts for self preservation. Someone with a blocked heart chakra will therefore have difficulty fully opening up to the people in their life. If you want to open your heart chakra, loving others is not enough though – you need to cultivate bold self-love and be compassionate.

If you suspect your heart chakra is blocked, try the following:

  • Posture: Most of us are walking around like hunchbacks, unconsciously closing our hearts. Begin to become aware of your posture while sitting, standing and walking. Straighten the spine, engage the core, open the front of your chest and drop your shoulders. Check in frequently to make sure you don’t lose it and notice if you feel somewhat vulnerable in certain scenarios.
  • Yoga: Camel Pose is a great heart opener. Push your thighs and hips forward while keeping your head centred as you backbend as far as you comfortably can. If you are experienced and warmed up, you can drop your hands to the heels and deepen the backbend. It is not uncommon for fear to come up in this pose. Opening the heart chakra can be scary!
  • Gratitude: Write down all the things you love about yourself as if you are writing to the love of your life. Eventually, that is who you will become. You could turn this into a routine and every day write three things or people that you are grateful for.
  • Acts of kindness: Spend time helping others, send a note of thanks to someone or take flowers to a friend. By being compassionate in ways such as this, you can improve your own sense of well-being
  • Forgive: Forgive yourself or anyone who has hurt you or caused you pain. If you don’t want to physically confront this person, write it out and burn it. This is such a release for your heart.
  • Eat your greens: So good for a healthy heart. Drink fresh green juice or a glass of green smoothie or eat green food such as kale, broccoli, spinach, chard, lettuce, parsley, celery, cucumber, courgette, green tea, avocado, lime, mint, peas, kiwi, green apples, etc.